Learn more about the Devonport Community House

10 Morris Avenue, Devonport

What is a Community House?

There are 35 Community/Neighbourhood Houses within Tasmania, 33 of which are funded by the Department of Communities, to work from a community development framework within their community.  This is achieved by offering programs and courses of interest, or identified need, to the local community.

There are four Community Houses located on the North West Coast:

  • Burnie Community House, 24 Wiseman Street, Shorewell,
  • Ulverstone Neighbourhood House, 10 Lugana Crescent, Ulverstone,
  • East Devonport Community House, 106 David Street, East Devonport and
  • Devonport Community House, 10 Morris Avenue, Devonport.

The funding provided by Department of Premier and Cabinet is to cover wages and on-costs of operating the House. Community Houses sign a Service Agreement with the Department of Premier and Cabinet to secure this funding, and must then comply with obligations listed by the Department.  This includes, but is not limited to:

  • Development and implementation of a strategic plan - reviewed and report on annually;
  • Annual Report with Outcomes Reporting

Community Houses often source funding from other external grant opportunities to assist with running programs; purchase of new equipment and resources; and bigger projects, for example, the Community Garden development. While room hire rates are mainly utilised to cover electricity costs, tea and coffee facilities, etc, they are also utilised to maintain and replace equipment and resources that groups have access to, e.g. tables, chairs, whiteboards, childcare toys and equipment, etc.

Get in touch


03 6424 7060
email us

Latest News